wellhalesbells:

azeher:

wellhalesbells:

Fanfiction isn’t written for you, it’s shared with you.

this applies to any kind of written art.

I keep seeing this post get reblogged with this comment on it which is, yes, true but also misses the point entirely.  I singled out fanfiction because readers can leave scathing reviews on all authors’ work but rarely, if ever, do people feel so entitled to those creations as to message published authors to say: ‘you know, long hair on guys really doesn’t do it for me, you should change that,’ or ‘why’d you set this in that time period, I hate that time period, what a waste of my time,’ or ‘you shouldn’t have included X character so much, she was so worthless in the show and that ruined it for me.’  All of which are variations of real comments that I have gotten recently.  It is understood that, with published authors, their work is finished.  In fanfiction, authors are often treated as though our works are first drafts or collaborative and it is completely acceptable to send us back to our rooms to start again in order to please the random reader.  In which case, I’ll reiterate:

Fanfiction is not written for you.  It is shared with you.

Leave a comment